Six Iowa elementary schools in high-poverty areas, among them Perry and Marshalltown, will each receive $50,000 grants through the Computer Science is Elementary initiative, Gov. Kim Reynolds announced. The Governor’s STEM Advisory Council and the Iowa Department of Education are partnering with corporate partners that raised $350,000 in sponsorship funding for the grants. The six schools were chosen from 30 applicants. Loess Hills Computer Programming School, the inspiration for the Computer Science is Elementary project, also will receive a $50,000 grant to serve as a project resource. The winning schools will use the planning grants to implement their programs no later than the 2020-21 school year with regular school funding. The schools are:

Denison Elementary in the Denison Community School District

Lenihan Intermediate in the Marshalltown Community School District

Cora B. Darling Elementary in the Postville Community School District

East Union Elementary in the East Union Community School District

Perry Elementary in the Perry Community School District

Richardson Elementary in the Fort Madison Community School District