The Iowa Department of Education has awarded over $1.6 million in competitive grants to six school districts to establish therapeutic classrooms for learners whose social-emotional or behavioral needs affect their ability to be successful in their current learning environment. “I am proud of the work our schools do every day to expand educational opportunities in new ways to meet the needs of all students,” said Iowa Department of Education Director Ann Lebo. “I commend these schools and their community partners on plans for building and strengthening a continuum of therapeutic supports for students.” The six districts selected for a one-time Therapeutic Classroom Incentive Grant are the Ames, Clinton, Eastern Allamakee, Hinton, Mount Pleasant and Washington community school districts. The grant program was enacted by state legislation last year and is part of a statewide effort to increase mental health support for children, youths and families. Grants will be distributed no later than Aug. 1 for district implementation during the 2021-2022 school year. More information about Therapeutic Classroom Incentive Grants is available on the Iowa Department of Education’s website.