Five members of the Iowa House have signed off on the idea of charging a new fee to the owners of electric vehicles and a new, per-kilowatt-hour tax at public charging stations, reports Radio Iowa. The Iowa DOT has recommended a $130 annual fee for electric vehicles, which is higher than what’s being charged in Minnesota, Wisconsin, Missouri and Nebraska. Drivers of gas-powered vehicles pay the state fuel tax, which finances the upkeep and construction of roads and bridges.