ISU CYstarters held its 2020 Demo Day virtually, live streaming announcements on YouTube and Facebook last week with more than 160 community members tuning in. The event announced three categories of awards, including the first Ted Bair Cystarters Awards in memory of Ted Bair, former Iowa State regional director at America’s Small Business Development Center. CYstarters gave $6,000 to cohort participants and $1,500 to three program alumni. 

Ted Bair Cystarters Awards:

2020 Cystarter ($1,000): Dillon Burns (Anchor Nutrition and Fitness)

Mentor: Kevin Kimle (Rastetter Chair of Agricultural Entrepreneurship, director of Agricultural Entrepreneurship Initiative)

Alumni Awards ($1,500):

Brady Trent, Rebecca Lyons and Stephanie Bias

2020 Cystarters Cohort Awards ($1,000):

Rachel Gai (Rachel Reloaded), Alexander Dill (Surrebral Designs), John Hatfield and Benjamin Thompson (ChordaWorm Lures), Andrew Heller and Yvonne Speck (BloomLash), Linda Tong (Linda Tong Planners).