The growth of Iowa-based Sukup Manufacturing Co. has always been tied to farmers and the land, and ever-increasing crop yields over the past couple of decades have fueled rising demand for grain handling and storage products. That need — and the imperative for innovation — has driven the growth of the family-owned company that’s now […]

Manufacturers ranging from recreational vehicle makers to distilleries and injection-mold companies — as well as companies outside the manufacturing industry — rapidly shifted their organizations’ talents toward producing critically needed personal protective equipment for front-line health care workers in their communities across Iowa.  Among the largest manufacturers that jumped into making PPE items was Deere […]

Weld, executive director of the Governor’s STEM Advisory Council, has been a driving force behind developing a successful and thriving science, technology, engineering and math program in Iowa.  Through his leadership and guidance, STEM has emerged from the depths of obscurity in Iowa to play a prominent role in Iowa’s education system and advancing talent […]

James Gruening is the co-founder and senior vice president of Mechdyne Corp., a virtual reality and technology company. Based in Marshalltown, Mechdyne was founded in 1996 by Gruening, Chris Clover and Kurt Hoffmeister, who had all recently graduated from Iowa State University. Mechdyne’s very first project focused on creating a virtual reality firefighting simulator for […]

For this year’s innovationIOWA magazine, we too are fittingly pivoting from our normal in-person unveiling party to a virtual interactive event aimed to help you and your organization learn from others who have been reactively innovating in the face of new challenges and needs. Join our virtual gathering on May 21, where you’ll hear stories […]

EMC Insurance Cos. and Iowa State professor Lisa Schulte Moore are winners of the innovationIOWA awards, the Business Record announced today.  EMC is the recipient of the Corteva Agriscience innovationLEADER Award for its efforts to take a company value of innovation to the next level. Lisa Schulte Moore — professor of natural resource ecology and […]